The PL Builder Overview provides the a tour of the PL Builder and information on it's key features. This article will explore the following features in more detail:
- Adding Modules
- Adding Tiles
- Deleting & Restoring Tiles
- Reverting Tiles
- Adding Fluency
- Hiding Modules
- Subscribing to Notifications
The later clip below from the same PL Builder Overview demonstrates the additional PL Builder tools from 4:30-5:50 before moving on to demonstrate how to Invite Collaborators. It later shows how to Hide Modules and subscribe to Notifications at around 6:25.
Written Explanation with Visuals:
Only district-level PL Managers have the "Create Module" option in the PL Builder. Clicking this option will open the popup, shown above, to create the module's title and a brief (250 character maximum) description. After a module has been created, the PL Managers can continue by adding tiles and content, or they can Invite Collaborators to create the module content. New modules will appear with an orange "Unpublished" border as a reminder that it is not visible to assigned users until it is published.
Image above: Add Tile option in new module
Image above: Tile Type Options
Once a module has been created, pages of content can be added. These pages are represented as four types of "Tiles":
- Content Pages allow users to consume content, including text, embedded images or videos, and/or attached resource files or links. These content tools are also available on the other tile types; what sets Content Pages apart is that users do not have the option to add their own comments or attachments.
- Reflection Tiles like Content pages, Reflections allow users to access a description and optional set of resources, and also to complete a reflection with optional attachments. Only that user and the user's PL Managers can view these reflections. PL Managers can view and comment on these reflections via the Coaching View.
- Discussion Tiles, like Reflections and Content Pages, allow users to access a description and optional set of resources. Unlike Reflection Tiles, however, the user's comments and attachments on these pages are part of an online Discussion. Users can choose to complete the discussion with their District, or if they're a member of a school and/or cohort, they can complete the discussion with those groups.
- Quiz tiles allow the user to access content and complete a multiple-choice quiz to receive feedback and a score.
Once the Tile has been added to the Module, you can add content to the Tile as explained in the article on Creating Tile/Page Content.
Image 1A above: Rearrange Icon
Image 1B above: Rearranging Tile In Progress
Image 1C above: Rearranged Tile
Both Tiles and Modules can be rearranged by dragging and dropping with the icon shown in Image 1A above. Click and hold down on the icon, drag the tile to the new desired location (as shown in Image 1B above), and then let go. The tile will then be marked with an orange border and the word "Rearranged" as a reminder that the placement of this tile has changed (Image 1C above). Assigned users will only see the new arrangement of the tiles after the module is published. If you would like to return the tile to it's original position, you can manually rearrange it again, or use the Revert feature explained below. Note, when rearranging Modules, the new module order will appear for assigned users immediately on their My District PL page. Unlike Tiles, the modules do not need to be re-published for the new order to appear.
Both Tiles and Modules can be copied with the icon shown above. Invited Collaborators can copy tiles, while PL Managers with access to the module can also copy it at the module level. Note, the copies will include any unpublished changes. If you would like to copy the tile or module as it is currently published, you'll need to first Revert the tiles to their published states, as explained below. Copied tiles will be treated like new tiles, meaning they will be unpublished and not visible to assigned users until the next time the module published. Also note that a copied Module is treated like a new module, so it will be unpublished and unassigned, with no Invited Collaborators or Notification subscriptions. The assigned users' status and work on the module will not be copied.
Deleting & Restoring Tiles
Image 2A: Delete Icon
Image 2B: Restore Icon
Tiles can be deleted with the icon shown in Image 2A above. If the module has been published and users have added comments or attachments to that page, their work will be deleted with the tile the next time the module is published. If you would like to un-delete the tile before publishing, you can do so with the Restore icon shown in Image 2B above. This option will restore the tile to its previous state, with or without unpublished changes. If you do not wish to Restore the tile, it will appear with an orange "Deleted" border until the next time the module is published. Assigned users will only see the tile as deleted after this change has been published. Note, entire Modules cannot be deleted, but they can be unassigned and Hidden as explained below.
Once a module is published, tiles will be marked with an orange "Unpublished Changes" border whenever the tile is edited. This border is meant to serve as a reminder that the changes in that tile are not currently visible to assigned users. Re-publishing the module will make all unpublished changes visible to assigned users, and will remove these orange borders in the PL Builder. However, if you would like to un-do the unpublished changes on a tile, you can do so with the Revert option, shown in the image above. This option is only available on previously-published tiles with unpublished changes. Reverting the tile will restore it in the PL Builder to it's currently-published state, and the orange "Unpublished Changes" border will be removed.
Image 3A above: Add Fluency
Image 3B above: Fluency Level Added
The Fluency level of the module is meant to emphasize application of what has been learned, usually with the guidance and feedback of a PL Manager acting as a coach. Modules can be published without this level, but if a Fluency level is desired, it can be added with the Add Fluency option shown in Image 3A above. Then, a new level with the option to add new tiles will appear in the PL Builder as shown in Image 3B. Tiles at the Fluency level may be the most appropriate ones to mark as Requiring Review (a setting explained in the article on Creating Tile/Page Content). When Fluency tiles are published, two Micro-Certifications will become available for the module: one when all Literacy tiles are complete, and one when all Fluency tiles are complete. If the module is published without any Fluency tiles, the Fluency section and Micro-Certification will be removed.
Image above: Hide Modules option
Image above: Hide Modules option popup
If you have access to multiple modules in the PL Builder, you can hide some with the Hide Modules option shown above. Hiding a module will remove it from your view of the PL Builder, allowing you to focus only on the modules you are currently building. The module will not be unassigned or hidden from any other users. You can un-check the module at any time to view and edit it again.
Subscribing to Notifications
If you are collaborating with other users on the creation of a module, you may wish to subscribe to Notifications. These notifications will alert you whenever another user edits the module - for instance, if they add a new tile, make changes on an existing tile, change the module's assignment, or publish changes. For more information in this feature, see the detailed article on PL Builder Notifications.